Night classes are great, but they never help me sleep.

Thursday, January 13th, 2011

I just wanted to say that I am going to love this semester. My grant and proposal writing class is awesome. Tonight I had the History of Writing Instruction course and after I left my mind was alive with everything we had talked about and how I could apply that to teaching and research.

But that is my problem, really. I have these wonderful night classes that get me all ramped up and then I have to go home and chill out and sleep. It is fairly impossible.

I think there should be a study done on people who are analytical to a crazy degree (workaholics as well) and sleep patterns. The findings might be interesting. (EDIT: Upon doing research I found out that we have deeper levels of sleep than others who were studied. So when I finally do sleep, I might be sleeping more deeply and I am a deep sleeper. If the zombies come when I’m sleeping, I’m screwed.) I leave night classes with these new ideas that I can incorporate in the classroom and in my research. And these ideas don’t go away because I left the classroom. They stay and proliferate and transform. I just need to learn not to worry about them before bed is what I need to do.

But that is what learning is all about. I only wish I could fall asleep faster. I suppose that is the price I have to pay, though.

Leave a Reply

