Short rant on hipsters where I don’t go nearly as deep into my subject as I could.

Sunday, January 16th, 2011

Ok, so on Facebook yesterday I spotted an article from NPR (a place that can be seen as a sort of hipster haven) on Tammy Fay Bakker’s son. You can read the article here: http://www.npr.org/2011/01/15/132864466/jim-and-tammy-fayes-son-finds-his-own-grace&sc=fb&cc=fp

But look at the photo of him for a moment. Do you notice anything you have seen before? I am sure you do. The glasses. The empty stare. The hat. The typical piercing. The look that says, why yes, I published a book recently and yet no one seems to respect my voice as deeply as they should.

Tammy Fay Bakker gave birth to a hipster.

Hipsters. They all look alike. I don’t get it. If you want to be different, why not well, be different. I can’t tell one hipster apart from another. PBR is not a good beer and should not be consumed if there are other options available. Trucker hats are called trucker hats for a reason: they are for truckers and people who drive farm machinery, by default. Flannel shirts went out of style sometime after the death of Kurt Cobain in 1994. It is especially not cool to dress like you just walked out of the Flying J in Fargo after a bender. Hence the photo below:

Please, this has got to stop. I am not of your generation. I am not of your generation. I cannot possibly be from your generation.

Ugh.

Leave a Reply

