Important reading

Tuesday, February 15th, 2011

http://www.bu.edu/wpnet/files/2010/09/Hesse-Creative-Writing-Composition-CCC-2010.pdf

 

I finally had some time to read the above link and think a. the argument is interesting and creative and b. I have to agree with it. I’m currently in the process of adding it to my research because I can see where it can easily fit with my literature argument. I also think the discussion of “writer’s craft” could add an important instructional/pedagogical element to any writing class, especially FYC.  I think beginning writers would benefit greatly from this discussion. You could also fit it into professional writing classes as well. You could show them how they can signal themselves out among other candidates not only for their writing skills, but their understanding of what constitutes effective communication in a business environment. By understanding that writing is a “craft” you can also lead into further discussion about what is genre.

 

Leave a Reply

